St Agnes G.A.C. Andersonstown was formed, in the area around Casement Park, in 1951. It followed a number of football matches, soccer one week, gaelic the next, organised on an impromptu basis between boys from the Commedeagh area and altar servers from the local St.Agnes chapel living in Mooreland Park/Stockmans Lane and Fruithill Park districts.

The inaugural meeting was held in McGrogan's house, Commedagh Drive in the summer of 1951. Among those present were: Paddy (RIP), and Anthony McGrogan (RIP), Joey Corr, Frank and Brendan McGurk, Billy Dodds (Jnr), Barney Mc Allister (RIP), Danny Mc Naughton, Gerry Doherty, Paul Power, Patsy Cunning, Tom Toner (now Monsignor), Eamon and Mickey Brennan, Gerry Brennan (RIP), Dennis O'Brien, Matt Brown (RIP), Brian Murphy, Barry Dineen, Gerry Bowman and Paddy Dunne (RIP).

Joe Guning was at that time on a personal visit to McGrogan's house and contributed £1 towards the formation of the club. Following this meeting word spread around the area about the club and membership increased with the result being that the County Minor teams were made up with the majority of Saint Agnes' players.

Others to join about this time were Brian Cunning, Sean Sinclair, Kieran Gough, Albert and Seamus Owens, Sean Connolly, Jimmy Walls, Tom Leeson, Paddy O'Hara, Dan Aubrey and Paddy Cashman, Gerry and Noel Bradley, Joey Seeds, Terry Savage, Mickey and Joe O'Brien, Raymond Crossey, and a very young Gerry Barry (Former county secretary) who by the age of sixteen had moved on to play for St Galls.

Matt Brown was elected Chairman. Tom Leeson was the first president. Further meetings were held in: Brennans Garage (Fruithill Park) and O'Neills House (Mooreland Park). Andy McCallin (Senior) gave invaluable advice on how to proceed to register and organise the club whose first official team was entered in the County Antrim Minor League in 1952.
McCormick's garage and workshop, roughly where the back of the Mace Supermarket is now and behind Hoppy Dobbins house, became idle and the club put in an ex-dance hall floor and the first clubhouse was established.
At this time the Mulgrew family from Co. Tyrone, arrived in Andersontown, moving into the same estate as the Murphy family, from County Fermanagh. It wasn't long before Brian and Kieran Mulgrew, along with the Murphy brothers Paddy, John, Phil, and Hugh, joined the Aggies. By this time Paddy O' Hara, who had played on the great Antrim side beaten by Kerry in the 1946 All Ireland semi-final, was training the club's minor team. Together they won Antrim County Minor Football Titles and had no less than six players on the Antrim County Minor team. Among them were Peter O' Kane, George Mc Crory, Eamon Gough, Donal Fegan and Gerry Bradley.

About 1956 Dan Maguire was chairman. When he decided not to seek re-election John Mulgrew (RIP), an older brother of Brian and Kieran, became chairman. He held this position until 1965 and then took up the reins as treasurer to 1975. John, his brother Brian and Paddy, Phil, and Hugh Murphy all worked in the bar trade. In the early sixties however, when the Antrim County Board decided to introduce evening football during the summer, the club ran into trouble. Paddy Cashman (then secretary), George McCrory (Capt.), himself a barman, and John discovered that out of a squad of twenty, no less than thirteen were barmen. This trend has continued through the years to the present day.


In 1954 the GAA purchased pitches at Shaw's Road and built a row of lock up garages. St Agnes leased two end ones, installed some basic facilities and this became clubhouse number two until the land was developed into the present 3 pitches in 1965.The next clubrooms were situated above the shops beside Casement Park but these were vacated in 1970. The club was without premises from then up to November 1999 when Danny Murphy (Ulster Secretary) officially opened our present clubrooms.
The club has always had many links with the county right from its inception. In the first playing year (1952) four players were selected to play for the county minor team, Frank Mc Gurk, Paddy McGrogan, Patsy Cunning,and Joey Corr. The next year Pat and Frank Grogan from Galleys's Gate (Aghagallon had no minor team) Frank Mc Gurk, and Eamon Brennan were selected with a number of players in the reserves. In 1953 Brendan and Frank Mc Gurk, along with Hillary Mc Kenna played on the Minor County Hurling Team and later on the senior teams. Others to succeed at county level at various grades were, Gerry Mc Parland, Gerry Thompson, Kevin Burke, Joe Compston, Maurice Massey, Noel Burke, Aidan Shannon, Brendan Grieve, Cathal Kelly, Aodan Mc Kinley, Kevin Martin, Conor Caldwell and Declan McLarnon. Two of the club's players, Liam Burke, and Dermot Rooney (vice-captain), played on the successful Antrim All Ireland Junior Hurling Team in 2002.
Off the field Jimmy Flynn represented the club at various board levels throughout the years and became county registar. Paddy McIlvenny was county youth officer, Maria Mc Larnon was a member of the South Antrim Executive and husband Roy was involved as a selector of many county senior football teams. He was part of the minor management team that participated in three Ulster Football Finals. He has the distinction of being the last Antrim County Football manager to win an Ulster title, when he led the Under 21 team to victory in the 1989 final.
The club, from 1989 to 1999, produced the National League Football and Hurling and Antrim All County Football and Hurling Final programmes for the Antrim county board.
Other notable programmes produced were the ‘Belfast 91'and ‘Casement Re -Opening' souvenir programme.

Achievements include:

Minor football leagues, Div 5, Div 6

Saint Joseph's Glenavy 7's in the 50's

All County Football League Div 5-1967 & 1971

All County Football League Div 4-1976 & 1981

All County Football League Div 3-1982

All County Football League Div 2 -1990

South Antrim Junior Football Championship 1990

All Ireland Saint Jude's Junior Football 7s'-2000

South Antrim Football League Div 3-1982

South Antrim Martin Cup 2002

All County Hurling League Div 3 2002

All County Junior Hurling Championship 1995 & 2000

South Antrim Hurling League Div2 1995

Various U12 and U14 League and Championship titles in the 1990's and most recently the South Antrim U14 Football Div 2 league and Championship in 2003
Saint Agnes Gaelic Athletic Club have participated in Antrim Scor for many years on and off, and have always fared well winning titles for the quiz, solo singing, ceilie dancing and recitation. Two years ago we entered Scor Na Nog for the first time in many years. The club has taken part in, and hosted teams in Feile winning best banner and best-dressed team twice. Juveniles and indeed seniors have enjoyed many cultural and sporting trips around Ireland.

To conclude it is very gratifying to see so many of our juveniles progressing to the senior ranks despite the loss of so many gifted players to senior clubs in the city. This year the club will play in Div 3 of the All County Hurling and All County Football leagues. A thriving juvenile section exists watched over by dedicated club members, many of whom are still playing and in their early twenties. Training takes place every Saturday from 10.30 am until noon for under 8's to under 16's and throughout the week for other age groups.

No Documents Available.
Latest Gallery
Have Your Say
Latest Comment: Check out our newsletter on home page - if you are not getting it to y...
Sign our guestbook!

Upcoming Fixtures
Senior Football - Senior Football training  - Thursday's 8pm at Rathmore
Senior Hurling - Senior Hurling Training - Monday 16th March 9pm at Lamh Dhearg
Juvenille - Saturdays @ PNU 10.30am